The IGCSE curriculum allows the students to take a minimum of 5 and maximum of 14 subjects. The IGCSE ‘core’ curriculum consists of a First Language, Second Language, Mathematics, and one or more subjects in the area of science. English, Mathematics, and the Sciences are the IGCSE Core subjects. A student can also choose to study other subjects ranging from Social Sciences to Arts & Technology. For the schools also the IGCSE curriculum proves to be very flexible and it comes with excellent resources and training. Out of these 70 subjects offered by IGCSE, 30 are languages and the schools can choose to offer them in any combination.

The IGCSE approach to teaching is to introduce the students to a variety of subjects and encourage them to make connections between them. IGCSE focuses on developing the student’s understanding, skill, and knowledge in the following areas:

  • Subject content
  • The application of knowledge and understanding to new as well as unfamiliar situations
  • Intellectual enquiry
  • The flexibility and responsiveness to change
  • Working and communicating in English
  • Influencing outcomes
  • Cultural awareness

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education, or IGCSE, is an international exam for school students. It is typically taken by 14 to 16-year–olds, and it makes students ready for more academic work, including moving to A-Level and AS-Level of study,International Baccalaureate, and BTEC Level 3 (which is recommended for higher-tier students). The IGCSE is recognized as the same quality as the United Kingdom GCSE.

IGCSE courses cover subjects from a variety of areas: Languages, Humanities, Social Sciences, Mathematics, Creative, Technical and Vocational.

Most subjects can be studied at two levels of ability, either an easier level (Core Curriculum) or a harder level (Extended Curriculum). This is so that the IGCSE is appropriate for students with different levels of ability. It is planned to be appropriate for students whose first language may not be English and this is seen in all the tests for the IGCSE

The following is a list of subjects for which IGCSEs are available:

  • Accounting
  • Afrikaans as a first language
  • Afrikaans as a second language
  • Agriculture
  • Arabic as a first language
  • Arabic as a second language
  • Art
  • Art and Design
  • Bangladesh Studies
  • Biology
  • Business Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Child Development
  • Chinese as a first language
  • Chinese (Mandarin) as a second language
  • Computer Studies
  • Commerce
  • Czech as a first language
  • Drama
  • Design & Technology
  • Development Studies
  • Dutch as a first language
  • Dutch as a second language
  • Economics
  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • English as a second language (ESL)
  • Environmental Management
  • Food and Nutrition
  • French as a first language
  • French as a second language
  • Geography
  • German as a first language
  • German as a second language
  • Greek as a second language
  • Hindi as a First Language
  • History
  • Human Anatomy
  • Indonesian as a second language
  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Information Technology
  • IsiZulu as a second language
  • Japanese as a first language
  • Japanese as a second language
  • Korean as a first language
  • Latin
  • Malay as a second language
  • Mathematics
  • Mathematics – Additional
  • Music
  • Pakistan Studies
  • Physical Education
  • Physical Science
  • Physics
  • Portuguese as a first language
  • Portuguese as a second language
  • Punjabi
  • Religious Studies
  • Russian as a first language
  • Science – Combined
  • Sciences – Co-ordinated (Double Award)
  • Sociology
  • Spanish as a first language
  • Spanish as a second language
  • Spanish Literature
  • Swahili language
  • Thai as a first language
  • Thai as a second language
  • Travel and Tourism
  • Turkish as a First language
  • Urdu
  • Sinhala
Call Now Button
Help? live chat